Tasty Granola with Flax Seeds and Cranberries

I love granola!

When I saw this picture on pinterest, I really wanted to make granola cups. They are so cute and would be perfect to eat between classes with some yogurt.

source

I already knew I would use this recipe because I had made it a few weeks before and it was delicious. So, I got all of my ingredients together and made the granola, with many taste tests along the way. :)

I filled some normal sized cupcake liners and some mini cupcake liners with the granola and pressed it down on the sides so that it formed little granola cups like the picture. Since there was a lot of leftover granola mix, I just threw it onto a pan and baked the rest that way.

Once they came out of the oven, I tried a few and they were so good! My mom thought so too.

Apparently, Verdell also liked them…

When my mom and I came home from dinner, we found a bag of granola ripped open and a guilty looking dog.

He’s gotten into other things before too…

Before...

After (We had eaten the ones that are missing..)

But it’s pretty hard to get mad at him when he’s so cute. Even if he is¬†really¬†stinky.

Although the cups of granola were eaten by my cute dog, I still got to take the normal granola with me and it was very good! :)

Granola with Flax Seeds and Cranberries

(adapted from How Sweet Eats)

4 cups rolled oats

3 tablespoons flax seeds

1/3 cup pumpkin seeds (or some crushed nuts)

1 cup natural peanut butter, melted

2/3 cup honey

1/2 cup dried cranberries (or more)

1/2 cup shredded unsweetened coconut (or more)

Preheat an oven to 350 degrees F. For normal granola, line a baking sheet with parchment paper or foil. If you are planning to make granola cups, line a cupcake pan with cupcake liners and set aside.

Combine the oats, flax seeds, and pumpkin seeds in a large bowl. Add honey and melted peanut butter until combined (I started with a spatula but ended up using my hands to make sure everything was covered). Stir in dried cranberries and coconut until evenly distributed.

For normal granola, scatter evenly on the prepared baking sheet. You may need to bake all of the granola in separate batches so that it is evenly cooked. Bake for 15 minutes and check to see if it is done. It should be lightly browned and slightly crispy. If it is not ready, bake longer, checking every few minutes.

For the granola cups, plop a few spoonfuls of the granola mix into each cupcake liner. Press the granola down and to the sides so that a cup shape is formed. Just like the normal granola, bake for 15 minutes and if it is not ready, bake longer while checking every few minutes.

Leave a Reply

