Hunger Games Cupcakes!!!

I have been so excited to make these! I have been imagining what I would make for a Hunger Games themed dessert for a few weeks now, and on Saturday I figured out what I was going to do. I made these cupcake toppers on Saturday night which were pretty easy.

My sister had a great idea to make chocolate cupcakes to look like coal and fill them with a raspberry filling to mimic nightlock. I didn’t have raspberries on hand, but I will get them sometime soon.  A recipe for those will also be coming soon. :). But first, here are the cupcakes I made tonight:

The cupcakes

I made a chocolate cupcake recipe and filled gold cupcake liners with the batter.

The frosting

I used my own recipe here-I kind of just went by tasting after adding ingredients.

2 1/4 cup powdered sugar

2 tablespoons butter

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 teaspoons milk

In a small bowl, combined half of the powdered sugar with 1 tablespoon of butter until crumbly. Add the vanilla and 1 teaspoon of milk. Stir until smooth and watery. Add the rest of the powdered sugar and stir to combine until thick. Add the remaining 1 tablespoon of butter and the 1/2 teaspoon of milk. Once smooth, add more milk or powdered sugar until desired consistency is made.

To make the frosting look like fire, I grabbed a tall glass cup and a frosting bag. I put the frosting bag inside of the cup and folded the edges around the cup so that it would be easier to add food coloring and frosting. I painted some red, yellow, and a combination of both in three sections on the inside of the frosting bag. Then, I scooped in my frosting.

After my cupcakes were completely cool, I took the frosting bag out of the cup, secured the top, and cut a small tip off of the frosting bag tip. I started with a circle lining the top of the cupcake and then swirled up. I did this a second time after sticking the topper in so that the frosting would reach the top.

1. Put the frosting bag inside of a tall cup and wrap the edges of the bag over the edges of the cup. 2. Paint color dyes inside of the bag. 3. Scoop the frosting into the bag.

The toppers

I already made these ahead of time. You can see instructions and the final product here.

2 thoughts on “Hunger Games Cupcakes!!!

Leave a Reply

